According to KXAN, eight vehicles carrying 18 people total crashed on the lower deck in the southbound lanes on North Interstate 35. Responders from Austin-Travis County EMS arrived at the scene to find five people had sustained injuries.
They transported all five individuals to local hospitals for immediate medical attention. Two of the five accident victims sustained serious injuries. Officers closed the southbound lanes to clear the scene and investigate the cause of the collision.
If you sustained injuries in a multi-vehicle collision, you may be eligible for compensation from the liable party or parties. To discuss your situation with an experienced personal injury lawyer, contact the Robson Law Firm.
Our legal team will investigate your accident, gather evidence, and help you fight for the maximum settlement. Call 512-345-8200 to schedule a free case evaluation with an injury attorney in Austin.
Who Determines Liability after a Car Crash?
If you want to recover compensation for the damages you incurred in a collision, you will need to prove liability. In a two-vehicle accident, determining fault can be fairly simple, but it gets increasingly more complicated with each additional car that is involved.
In general, proving liability starts with the police and ends with the insurance adjuster. When officers respond to the accident, it is their job to determine who may have caused the collision and why. They will do this by assessing the scene and taking local traffic laws into account.
If you want to file an insurance claim or sue the liability party, you will need a copy of the police report to start building your case. When you get the report, make sure you review it carefully for accuracy, especially if there were multiple vehicles involved in the crash.
It is fairly easy to correct factual errors regarding minor details on police reports, but challenging the established fault is much more complicated. If you think police failed to take critical details into account when determining liability, a personal injury lawyer can help you dispute the report.
In order to amend a disputed fact on a police report, you must be able to back up your claim with evidence. An attorney can help you gather such evidence, which may include photographs of the crash scene, witness testimonies, and the testimony of an accident reconstruction expert.
Texas Is an “At-Fault” Insurance State
Proving fault may seem tedious, especially if you are recovering from serious injuries; however, it is necessary to do so in the state of Texas if you want to recover compensation for the damages you incurred. Texas is an “at-fault” insurance state when it comes to auto accidents, which means the insurance company of the driver who caused the collision would be liable for damages. The Texas Department of Insurance requires motorists carry a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury total, and $25,000 for property damage per accident in liability insurance.
If you sustained injuries in a collision that was not your fault but the insurance adjuster is disputing your claim, contact the Robson Law Firm for quality legal counsel. Call 512-345-8200 to schedule a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer in Austin. You can learn more about car accident claims in Texas by visiting the USAttorneys website.